Protected Areas

Protected Areas by Country within Latin America and the Caribbean

Protected areas (or conservation areas) are locations which receive protection because of their recognized natural, ecological or cultural values. There are several kinds of protected areas, which vary by level of protection:

  • Category Ia  — Strict Nature Reserve
  • Category Ib  — Wilderness Area
  • Category II   — National Park
  • Category III  — Natural Monument or Feature
  • Category IV  — Habitat/Species Management Area
  • Category V   — Protected Landscape/Seascape
  • Category VI  — Protected Area with sustainable use of natural resources

Conception Island National Park

Exuma Cays Land and Sea Park

Inagua National Park

Christoffel/Shete Boka Park

Curaçao Underwater Park

Cabrits National Park

Morne Diablotin National Park

Morne Trois Pitons National Park

Natural Parks

Cueva de las Maravillas National Park

Del Este National Park

Jaragua National Park

José Armando Bermúdez National Park

La Caleta Underwater National Park

Lago Enriquillo National Park

Los Haitises National Park

Monte Cristi National Park

Deux Mamelles National Park

Grand Bois National Park

Grande Colline National Park

La Visite National Park

Pic Macaya National Park

El Imposible National Park

Los Volcanes National Park

Montecristo National Park

El Boqueron Park

Alamikamaba Natural Reserve

Apacunca Genetic Reserve

Apoyo Lagoon Natural Reserve

Asososca Lagoon Natural Reserve

Bismuna Raya Lagoon Natural Reserve

Bosawás Biosphere Reserve

Cabo Viejo-Tala-Sulamas Natural Reserve

Cayos Miskitos Biological Reserve

Cerro Apante Natural Reserve

Cerro Arenal Natural Reserve

Cerro Banacruz Natural Reserve

Cerro Cola Blanca Natural Reserve

Cerro Cumaica-Cerro Alegre Natural Reserve

Cerro Guabule Natural Reserve

Cerro Kilambé Natural Reserve

Cerro Mombachito - La Vieja Natural Reserve

Cerro Musún Natural Reserve

Cerro Pancasan Natural Reserve

Cerro Quiabuc-Las Brisas Natural Reserve

Cerro Silva Natural Reserve

Cerro Wawashang Natural Reserve

Chacocente Wildlife Refuge

Chiltepe Peninsula Natural Reserve

Chocoyero-El Brujo Natural Reserve

Cordillera de Yolaina Natural Reserve

Cordillera Dipilto and Jalapa Natural Reserve

Cosigüina Volcano Natural Reserve

El Arenal Natural Reserve

Estero Padre Ramos Natural Reserve

Estero Real Natural Reserve

Fila Masigüe Natural Reserve

Indio Maíz Biological Reserve

Juan Venado Island Natural Reserve

Kligna Natural Reserve

Kukalaya Lagoon Natural Reserve

La Máquina Natural Reserve

Layasika Lagoon Natural Reserve

Limbaika Natural Reserve

Llanos de Apacunca Genetic Reserve

Llanos de Karawala Natural Reserve

Llanos de Makantaka Natural Reserve

Los Guatuzos Wildlife Refuge

Macizos de Peñas Blancas Natural Reserve

Maderas Volcano Natural Reserve

Makantaka Natural Reserve

Masaya Volcano National Park

Mecatepe Lagoon Natural Reserve

Mesas de Moropotente Natural Reserve

Miraflor Natural Reserve

Mombacho Volcano Natural Reserve

Nejapa Lagoon Natural Reserve

Pahara Lagoon Natural Reserve

Punta Gorda Natural Reserve

Río Manares Natural Reserve

Río San Juan Wildlife Refuge

Salto Río Yasika Natural Reserve

Selva Negra Cloud Forest Reserve

Sierra Amerrisique Natural Reserve

Sierra Quirragua Natural Reserve

Solentiname National Monument

Somoto Canyon National Monument

Tepesomoto-Pataste Natural Reserve

Tiscapa Lagoon Natural Reserve

Tisey Estanzuela Natural Reserve

Tisma Lagoon Natural Reserve

Volcán Maderas Natural Reserve

Volcán Pilas El Hoyo Natural Reserve

Volcán San Cristóbal Natural Reserve

Volcán San Cristóbal-Casita Natural Reserve

Volcán Telica Rota Natural Reserve

Volcán Yali Natural Reserve

Yolaina Natural Reserve

Yucul Genetic Reserve

Yulu Karata Natural Reserve

Yulu Natural Reserve

Zapatera Archipelago National Park

Alberto de Agostini National Park

Alerce Andino National Park

Alerce Costero National Park

Archipiélago de Juan Fernández National Park

Bernardo O'Higgins National Park

Bosque de Fray Jorge National Park

Cabo de Hornos National Park

Chiloé National Park

Conguillío National Park

Corcovado National Park

Hornopirén National Park

Huerquehue National Park

Isla Guamblin National Park

Isla Magdalena National Park

La Campana National Park

Lago Peñuelas National Reserve

Laguna del Laja National Park

Laguna San Rafael National Park

Las Palmas de Cocalán National Park

Lauca National Park

Llanos de Challe National Park

Llullaillaco National Park

Los Flamencos National Reserve

Morro Moreno National Park

Nahuelbuta National Park

Nevado Tres Cruces National Park

Pali-Aike National Park

Pan de Azúcar National Park

Puyehue National Park

Queulat National Park

Radal Siete Tazas National Park

Rapa Nui National Park

Salar del Huasco National Park

Tolhuaca National Park

Torres del Paine National Park

Vicente Pérez Rosales National Park

Villarrica National Park

Volcán Isluga National Park

Yendegaia National Park

Cerro Cabrera - Timane Nature Reserve

Cerro Chovoreca Natural Monument

Cerro Sarambí National Park

Defensores del Chaco National Park

Estero Milagro National Park

Ganso National Park

Lagoon Inmakata National Park

Laguna Blanca Ecological Reserve

Médanos del Chaco National Park

Pozo Hondo Ecological Reserve

Riacho Yacaré Ecological Reserve

Río Negro National Park

Scientific Pirizal Reserve

Teniente Agripino Enciso National Park

Yacaré National Park