Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)

Read so far

Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)

Mon, 07/31/2023 - 22:32

The Falkland Islands, known as the Islas Malvinas in Spanish, is a disputed territory located in the South Atlantic Ocean, off the southern coast of Argentina. The archipelago comprises two main islands and hundreds of smaller islands and islets.

Falkland Islands: Islas Malvinas

The Falkland Islands, known as the Islas Malvinas in Spanish, is a British Overseas Territory located in the South Atlantic Ocean, approximately 500 km (310 mi) east of the southern coast of Argentina in South America. The archipelago comprises two main islands, East Falkland and West Falkland, with around 776 smaller islands and islets.

Cultural Landscape


The Falkland Islands have a complex history, with sovereignty disputed between the United Kingdom and Argentina. Controversy exists over the Falklands' discovery and subsequent colonization by Europeans.

The islands were first sighted by European explorers in the early 16th century and were claimed by the British in 1765. The islands had French, British, Spanish, and Argentine settlements at various times. Britain reasserted its rule in 1833, but Argentina maintained its claim to the islands.

Argentina's claim to the islands led to a brief war with the UK in 1982. The conflict resulted in a British victory, but the sovereignty dispute remained unresolved, causing tensions between the two countries.


The Falkland Islands' economy is primarily based on agriculture (sheep farming) and fishing, with wool and fish being the main exports.

The islands also have a significant income from tourism, attracting visitors interested in wildlife, birdwatching, fishing, and exploring the pristine natural environment.

Oil exploration, licensed by the Falkland Islands Government, remains controversial due to maritime disputes with Argentina.

Government and Administration

The Falkland Islands are a largely self-governing British Overseas Territory with a British-style parliamentary government system. The Governor represents the British monarch as the head of state, while the Executive Council, led by the Chief Executive Officer, handles domestic affairs.

The United Kingdom provides defense for the islands. A British military garrison is stationed on the islands, and the Falkland Islands government funds an additional platoon.

The town of Stanley, founded in 1843 as Port Stanley, is the capital of the Falkland Islands. About two-thirds of the people of the Falklands reside in Stanley.

The Falklands claim an exclusive economic zone (EEZ) extending 200 nautical miles (370 km) from its coastal baselines, based on the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea; this zone overlaps with the EEZ of Argentina.

Population and Culture

The population of the Falkland Islands is around 3,600 (2021), primarily native-born Falkland Islanders, the majority of British descent. Under the British Nationality (Falkland Islands) Act 1983, Falkland Islanders are British citizens. The predominant (and official) language is English.

Other ethnicities include French, Gibraltarians, and Scandinavians. Immigration from the United Kingdom, the South Atlantic island of Saint Helena, and Chile has reversed a population decline.

The Falkland Islanders celebrate their unique heritage through various cultural events and festivals, often involving traditional music, dance, and food.

Access and Tourism

The Falkland Islands can be accessed via regular air links from the UK and South America, with flights usually connecting through Chile.

The islands have limited tourism infrastructure but offer various guided tours, wildlife excursions, and outdoor activities for visitors eager to experience the unspoiled natural beauty and unique wildlife.

Natural Landscape


The Falkland Islands are located in the South Atlantic Ocean, on the Patagonian Shelf, about 480 km (300 mi) east of Patagonia in southern Argentina. The archipelago consists of two main islands, West Falkland and East Falkland, and approximately 776 smaller islands.

The islands cover an area of about 12,200 sq km (4,700 sq mi) and are characterized by diverse landscapes, including rolling plains, rugged hills, and pristine coastlines.

East Falkland, the largest island, is hilly and contains most of the population and major settlements, including the capital, Stanley. West Falkland is more sparsely populated and features vast open spaces, ideal for sheep farming.


The Falkland Islands have a cool maritime climate, with temperatures varying between 5 °C to 16 °C (41 °F to 61 °F) throughout the year. The weather is highly changeable, with rapid shifts from sunny to cloudy conditions and strong winds. Snowfall is common during winter, and the islands experience relatively high precipitation levels.


The Falkland Islands are biogeographically part of the Antarctic zone, with strong connections to the flora and fauna of Patagonia in mainland South America.

Land birds make up most of the Falklands' avifauna. However, the islands are also home to various species of seabirds, including albatrosses, penguins, and cormorants. Five penguin species are breeding on the islands: king penguins, rockhopper penguins, Magellanic penguins, gentoo penguins, and macaroni penguins.

The archipelago had only one terrestrial mammal upon the arrival of Europeans, the Falkland Islands wolf (also known as warrah), found on both major islands.

Virtually the entire area of the islands is used as pasture for sheep. There is also an introduced reindeer population, which was brought to the islands in 2001 for commercial purposes.

The waters around the Falkland Islands sustain many animals, including marine mammals, southern elephant seals, and the South American fur seal. Sea lions are also common, especially on the more remote beaches.

The Falklands are treeless and have wind-resistant vegetation predominantly composed of various dwarf shrubs. Virtually the entire land area of the islands is used as pasture for sheep.

No trees are native to the area, leading to a vast proliferation of grass species. This includes tussac grass, the dense leaves providing a micro-climate for many bird and invertebrate species. Small bushes are also found, along with a small number of freshwater plants.


The Falkland Islands significantly emphasize conservation efforts to protect their pristine environment and diverse wildlife. Several nature reserves and protected areas have been established to safeguard the islands' ecological heritage.